Special Election District 1 County Commissioner

The Ramsey County Board of Commissioners has approved a special primary election for Ramsey County Commissioner in District 1, following the resignation of Commissioner Blake Huffman. District 1 represents the cities of Arden Hills, Gem Lake, North Oaks, Shoreview, Vadnais Heights, White Bear Township and parts of Mounds View, Spring Lake Park and Blaine. The candidate filing period closed June 18. 

Absentee Voting Opened June 28

Absentee voting opened June 28 and runs through August 12. Vote your absentee ballot by mail or in person at the Ramsey County Elections Office, 90 Plato Blvd. W., Saint Paul. Voting hours beginning June 28 through August 5 are Monday through Friday, 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.. From August 6 to August 12, additional hours and early voting locations will be available. 

The Plato office is the only location that will be open for absentee voting for the primary. See sample ballot for a list of candidates. The two candidates that receive the most votes from the August 13 special primary election will be on the November 5 general election ballot. 

The schedule is as follows:

June 28: Absentee/early voting opens for County Special Primary Election.
Aug. 13: County Special Primary Election. Only needed if more than two candidates file for the open seat.
Aug. 16: Canvass County Special Primary Election results.
Sept. 20: Early voting opens for County Special General Election.
Nov. 5: County Special General Election.
Nov. 12: Canvass County Special General Election results.
Nov. 19: Period to contest results ends.

Residents and businesses in District 1 should contact Vicky Soukaseum at 651-266-8355 for assistance or questions regarding county services within the community.

See Ramsey County Public Notice

Precinct 2 Location Change for August Primary

The Ramsey County Precinct 2 polling location will change for the August primary election from Valentine Hills Elementary School to North Heights Lutheran Church. 

Ramsey County Elections will provide a letter to all affected registered voters for this area at least 25 days prior to the primary election. 

The city's precinct locations are as follows:

  • P1 Presbyterian Church of the Way 3382 Lexington Avenue N., Shoreview
  • P2 North Heights Lutheran Church, 1700 West Highway 96, Arden Hills
  • P3 Ramsey County Public Works 1425 Paul Kirkwold Drive., Arden Hills

Early voting for the general election opens Sept. 20, with the general election on Nov. 5. More information about the general election will be sent out after the August 13 primary election.

Special Election District 1 Schedule